Home of Hope

ImageImage

The title of this sculpture is Hoping Love. The sculpture will be a heart surrounding two people, one person will be a non-homeless person while the other person will be a homeless man. They will both be united by holding hands. The two people will be made out of bronze and the heart will be made out of some aluminum metal that is colored red.  On the floor there will be a metal box that says “ Give or take?”  The people will stand 5 feet tall, the heart will be 10 feet high, 15 feet wide and 1 foot long and the box will be 2 feet tall and 2 feet wide.

On the heart, a quote by Robert Fulghum will be engraved on the base around the heart so if you were to walk up to it, the quote would be easily readable. The quote will state “I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge. That myth is more potent than history. That dreams are more powerful than facts. That hope always triumphs over experience. That laughter is the only cure for grief. And I believe that love is stronger than death.” The word “Hope” will be colored yellow, to point out the significance of the word “Hope.”

This sculpture will be placed right in front of the new UWB building once it is built. I think that it will be a high traffic place for students to see my sculpture and people will see it everytime they enter the building. I think it will be best placed there because many people will notice it rather than somewhere where nobody walks next to

Title: Hoping Love
Materials: Bronze ($5 per square foot)

Aluminum ($4 per square foot)

Metal ($2 per square feet

Total cost: $2000 – $3000

Dimensions:

Heart 10’  x 20 ‘ x 1’

People: 5’ tall

Box: 2 x 2

Roof: 2×3

Artist Statement:

After having some time to think about the sculpture that is going to have the word hope in it, I have come up with things that represent hope to be added onto my sculpture. I wanted the word Hope to stand out from the rest of the quote that is going to be added on the heart. When people look at my sculpture I want them to realize that hope is not something that can be said, it is something that can motivate someone to do better within themselves by believing. Homeless people are normal people like everyone else, except that they don’t have a place to live. I want to address this because many people will often see homeless people as people who are lazy to get a job and are too busy doing drugs to have shelter. I see it all the time when people pass by homeless people. When I see other people judge homeless people, it really hurts me deep inside because most of the people who are homeless don’t choose to be homeless. I want people to know that we’re all humans, no matter the skin color, gender, race, sexuality and by the things that we have. Hopefully my sculpture will embrace this and eventually get more people to stop judging others. If I can change people’s lives by just making a sculpture by bring awareness to people about homelessness then I will. The heart will obviously represent love surrounding the people in the middle. I also wanted to add one non-homeless person and one person who has a home to let other people know that we are all the same. I can’t even imagine how a homeless person lives their life every day, not knowing what they’re going to eat or where they are going to sleep. I know that if I was ever homeless, no matter what happens I will still have hope. Hope in knowing that one day I will get back up on my feet and have a home. I hope that all homeless people still have hope, even after a really long time of being homeless. For the final touch of the sculpture, I have added a metal box that will say “Give or Take?” so if anyone would like to donate anything to the homeless, they can just place their item or money inside of the box. At the end of each week, everything that’s in the box will be donated to homeless shelters. Also. Any homeless person who happens to walk by can take anything they would like from the box. As for the quote by Robert Fulghum, it will give the audience or viewer the opportunity to read the quote, hopefully inspiring them to donate. I also have decided to add a roof above the heart to represent that everyone has a home no matter if they are considered “homeless.”

7 responses to “Home of Hope

  1. I really do like your idea but it is a little literal and I know we are supposed to stay away from that. Also how will people be able to tell that the man is homeless and the woman isn’t? Will that be obvious?

  2. I really like the idea of unity in this piece. The unity of the homeless man and the woman coming together in this sculpture is what makes it so unique. I think the heart shaped archway enclosed in the roof of a home was a clever idea. It leaves the audience with an impression of hope or dreams for a better future in homelessness. Your motivation for creating this work shows in its aesthetic beauty. Why did you choose to use red in this sculpture? Does the red have some significance to you?

  3. Anthony,
    This is a really great piece! I really like this piece because of what is signifies and the fact that this piece can be interpreted in many ways. The fact that you chose the word ‘Hope’ is really great. I believe hope truly exemplifies social change and homelessness. The fact that you also chose to have a man and woman in the middle of the piece really makes this art piece unique and shows that idea of unity that you’re really trying to go for. Why did you choose to have a man and woman in the middle of the piece? Why not a family or other individuals? Also, why did you choose the color red for this piece? Overall, a really great piece.

  4. Anthony,
    This is a really great piece! I really like this piece because of what is signifies and the fact that this piece can be interpreted in many ways. The fact that you chose the word ‘Hope’ is really great. I believe hope truly exemplifies social change and homelessness. The fact that you also chose to have a man and woman in the middle of the piece really makes this art piece unique and shows that idea of unity that you’re really trying to go for. Why did you choose to have a man and woman in the middle of the piece? Why not a family or other individuals? Also, why did you choose the color red for this piece? Overall, a really great piece.

  5. tinekagronlund

    Anthony,
    This is a great inspirational piece! When you are homeless it is really important to have hope for improvement. I think my favorite part has to be the people holding hands. This shows unity and this idea that no one is alone. This is a great piece Anthony!

  6. This is a great piece visually and symbolically. I like the idea of the box for people to give and take, and I also really like the quote. The overall image of the sculpture with the two people joining hands is a great symbol for how society should act toward the homeless. We need to support them in any way we can and I feel that this piece really embodies that idea.

  7. I absolutely love the idea for the red metal. The image on the right stood out to me right away. The sculpture is very literal, which could be considered a good think or a negative thing. I think that the rest of the piece is great, but the part that is going to make it incredibly memorable is the bright red.
    – Jesse Niebruegge

Leave a Reply

