Family Can Be Anyone

Written proposal:

For my sculpture, I’m representing three individuals sitting as a triangle. They will be sitting cross-legged, and holding hands. Geometrically it’s a very strong structure, and portraying it this way will show a strong bond or unity. This sculpture needs to be done because many people don’t know the effects of homelessness. Homeless individuals live a life of suffering to a different extreme. They don’t have the benefits of families with a stable income. I feel like if this was accomplished, it can really open the eyes of others. To make the sculpture, I will use concrete as a medium. Concrete is roughly $2.78 per cubic foot. I will make a plaster molding of each sculpture. I’m going to use concrete as the material for my sculpture because I feel like the weather in Washington will give it a different outlook. When concrete is wet, it’s a darker shade of grey, compared to when it’d dry. It’ll get people to think of the artwork in a different perspective based off of the weather.  The size of the sculpture I think should be around 1ftx1ftx1ft. It’ll be large enough that people will acknowledge it and know that there is artwork there.

A great location to install this would be right outside of the library and Food for Thought. Just on the half circle cement area.  It’ll also give an impression of abstract humans being there. Therefore, the audience can connect with the piece. The artwork won’t be hazardous since it will be large enough, and will not be in the way of anyone’s feet, that there is no tripping point. To prevent theft, or stabilizing the sculpture, I think that bolting it down in the cement will work. Many students walk by it since it’s close to the bus stop, and next to the library and Food for Thought. During the nicer climate, I see students sitting on the cement bench and the picnic tables too.

Artist statement:

My motivation for this was my life experiences. I didn’t have as much as a struggle as many homeless individuals, but I felt like there was some minute connection with the idea of homelessness. Many don’t put themselves into that position. It just happens. I never thought of myself as homeless and don’t really put myself in the same boat as the majority of homeless individuals. I didn’t suffer as much as them, but I didn’t have a stable household for the past few years. I didn’t really have anyone to call a “family.” I tried living on my own, and I ended up moving to six different locations. I was never on a lease, so technically I was couch hopping. I wasn’t comfortable asking friends or strangers to see if they had a spare room for me to stay in, but in order for me to have a roof over my head, I did. I had feelings of shame, and broke down a lot of comfort zones. I didn’t have a family I could really talk about my issues with. Once I realized that living like this was really breaking me down, I moved back home. That was the best choice I’ve made for myself. Besides having the emotional and mental support from my family, I had a reflection period. Prior to that, I didn’t know what I wanted to do. It was just floating around and trying to figure out how to make amends meet. I didn’t focus on myself at all. But moving back in with my family, I had an epiphany. I realized that what I had been doing wasn’t worth all the times I’ve wasted.

When you don’t have a family, not blood-related, but anyone who is open and honest, you end up hurting yourself more. I never noticed it until I moved back home. I didn’t necessarily put myself in the position to end up couch hopping. It just happened because of personal issues. I didn’t realize how much support I had from my friends and family in my hometown.  I always saw it in a negative way. When I was living on my own and all my connections were cut, I realized how much support I was missing. Having anyone or anything to confide into is extremely beneficial. Having the sculptures shown as if their interacting will hopefully let people understand that homeless individuals go through so much emotionally and physically.

I really wanted to keep this sculpture simple. I felt that if it was a complicated piece, it would distract the main concept. As with the material, I think it’ll work well if it was made with concrete. I’m taking in the consideration that when concrete is wet, it’s a dark grey color, but when it’s dry it’s a lighter pale grey color. So, dealing with the Seattle weather, I feel as if many people during the rainy season have some sort of “winter blues.” I’m also going to have a cement plaque with a quote stating “’All things, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.’ – Anatole France” If an individual was passing by it, they can have their interpretation of this quote. I believe many people can relate to this sometime in their life. ImageImage

10 responses to “Family Can Be Anyone

  1. Your sculpture does portray that unity factor between individuals. Family does not have to be blood related but the people that help you grow as an individual through life´s journey. I agree with you that sometimes it takes loosing that support system to then realize how much its missed and needed. I also share that experience. But the good thing is that your sculpture would remind us about those relationships that we do have today and to maintain them or make them stronger.

  2. i really like your idea here, i also think that your sculpture is very neat and creative. the title goes well with your sculpture since theres two people sitting down, holding hands and those people might not even know each other! I really agree with you that family can be everyone, help others is such a great way of showing love and caring. i think that your sculpture is very inspiring.

  3. I like you concept of your art piece with the unity of individuals but I feel as if your title ” Family can be anyone” conflicts with your artistic statement where you mention that blood-related family was the most supportive and how you felt cut off from that when you were living on your own. But I do love the fact that you have taken Seattle’s weather into consideration for your art piece. That is a very neat ideal about how over time the concrete that you may use will change color over time.
    \

  4. I like you concept of your art piece with the unity of individuals but I feel as if your title ” Family can be anyone” conflicts with your artistic statement where you mention that blood-related family was the most supportive and how you felt cut off from that when you were living on your own. But I do love the fact that you have taken Seattle’s weather into consideration for your art piece. That is a very neat ideal about how over time the concrete that you may use will change color over time.

  5. Your project was one that really stood out to me. I love the concept and I like how it also symbolizes unity.

  6. I really like how you used your life experiences to come up with your idea. Many people struggle in different ways. Therefor the community including the homeless could relate and gain something from this. This sculpture is very unique and detailed. Good job!

  7. I like this concept and the inspiration behind it. I also think that your clay model came out really well

  8. Very nice design, I really enjoy the uniqueness to this sculpture and I love how it incorporates family as well.

  9. Very nicely done, I believe that the family can be anyone term is very well said because in a sense family can really be anyone. I really enjoy the uniqueness that you displayed in this sculpture.

  10. I love the concept of your project and how it symbolizes togetherness, peace and unity.

Leave a Reply

